Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > Annette Herrington Elected AETN Commission Chair

Annette Herrington Elected AETN Commission Chair

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

AETN is proud to announce that Annette Herrington has been elected as AETN Commission chair for fiscal year 2018 by her fellow members of the AETN Commission.

Herrington, who is an alumna of Hall High School and Harding University, is a certified public accountant and has served as the AETN Commission’s District 2 representative since March 2012.

Regarding her election as AETN Commission Chair, Herrington said:

AETN meets the needs of so many Arkansans, and this essential service goes far beyond the broadcast of high-quality educational and entertainment programs. Because of AETN, more than 33,000 Arkansas educators have access to hundreds of hours of free professional development, preschool children are prepared for success in school and life by PBS KIDS, and citizens can connect with local programming unique to Arkansas personalities, industries, natural resources, landmarks, history and arts. In addition to my belief in the work that AETN does throughout the state, I am encouraged by the growth and success the network is experiencing under the leadership of new executive director Courtney Pledger. Her extensive background in the film industry coupled with Gov. Hutchinson’s support of AETN’s mission promises a bright future for public media in Arkansas. The AETN Commission is honored to serve this worthwhile organization.

Herrington succeeds Dr. Kathryn Jones of Bentonville, who recently completed a two-year term as chair. AETN Executive Director Courtney Pledger shared the following in response to Commissioner Herrington’s election:

Annette, a longtime AETN supporter, is a natural choice for commission chair. She is a wonderful spokesperson for public media in Arkansas and volunteers regularly for AETN projects and community outreach. We are proud to have her and our other dedicated commission members working to help further AETN’s mission in the state.

Other AETN Commission officers include: George “Skip” Holland of Fayetteville, vice chair and AETN Foundation Board representative, and Philip Hathcock of Maumelle, secretary/treasurer. Holland, District 3/At-Large representative, was appointed to the commission in May 2012 and reappointed in March 2014. Hathcock, District 2/At-Large representative, was appointed to the commission in April 2014.

Other commission members are: Sammie Benjamin of Glenwood, District 4/Public School representative, originally appointed in January 1999 and reappointed in March 2003 and March 2011; John Brown of Siloam Springs, District 3/Higher Education representative, appointed in May 2015; West Doss of Fayetteville, District 3/At-Large representative, appointed in March 2016; Dr. Andrew Fulkerson of Paragould, District 1 representative, appointed October 2010; and Jones, District 3 representative, originally appointed to the commission in October 2010 and reappointed in March 2013.


AETN Commission