Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > 30th Annual Quiz Bowl State Finals

30th Annual Quiz Bowl State Finals

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

The Arkansas Governor’s Academic Competition is celebrating its 30th year with the broadcast of “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2015” on Saturday, April 25. A showcase for Arkansas high school students’ intellect, the Quiz Bowl state finals involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams.

The Quiz Bowl matches are a celebration and recognition of scholarship. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge of literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Winners of the state conference finals earn the opportunity to represent the Natural State in national tournaments. Scholarship money will also be awarded.

The broadcast of “Quiz Bowl 2015” will be aired in two parts  — 9 a.m. to noon and 1:30 to 4:30 p.m. All games will broadcast from AETN studios — located at 350 South Donaghey Avenue — and the public is invited to be a part of the audience. To join us, be sure to arrive no later than 8:30 a.m. for the first round nor 1 p.m. for the second at the AETN studios Sesame Street entrance.

The first round of matches, beginning at 9 a.m., will include:
  • 3A — Episcopal Collegiate (Little Rock) vs. Centerpoint (Amity)
  • 6A — Benton vs. Russellville
  • 1A — Sacred Heart (Morrilton) vs. Mt. Vernon-Enola
  • 2A — Hazen vs. Conway Christian
The second round of matches, beginning at 1:30 p.m., will include:
  • 7 A — Fort Smith Southside vs. Conway
  • 4A — Subiaco Academy vs. Hamburg
  • 5A — Morrilton vs. Little Rock Christian

Immediately following the last match, we’re pleased to announce that Gov. Asa Hutchinson will join us in studio for a special tribute to Arkansas’s 30 years of Quiz Bowl competition. It’s going to be an outstanding day and a true celebration for both the state and AETN. We’re proud to have broadcasted the annual Arkansas Quiz Bowl finals since 1985, and we look forward to another outstanding 30 years!


Saturday, April 25, 2015


Saturday, April 25, 2015 

AETN Studios
350 S. Donaghey Ave., Conway
Sesame Street Entrance